Picking Our Section Winners

This was one of the most difficult years on selecting section winners as there are very few clear-cut favorites. To make things more interesting this year David Romuald and I decided to have a friendly wager on our selections of who will win each section and punch their ticket to the Minnesota State High School Hockey Tournament.

The rules are simple; pick the winners of all eight sections in both Class A and AA. To add a little spice to the process, each section winner will come with a point value, with the #1 seed earning 1 point if they are selected and win the section. The #2 seed would receive 2 points if selected and they win. Example my selection of #3 seed Chaska in section 2AA would give me 3 points in the standings.

Here are our selections

1ANorthfield (1 seed)Northfield (1 seed)
2ADelano (2)Minneapolis (1)
3ANew Ulm (1)New Ulm (1)
4AMahtomedi (1)Chisago (3)
5ACambridge (2)Cambridge (2)
6AAlexandria (1)Fergus Falls (2)
7AHermantown (1)Hermantown (1)
8AWarroad (1)Warroad (1)
1AALakeville South (1)Lakeville South (1)
2AAChaska (3)Prior Lake (4)
3AACretin DH (1)St. Thomas (2)
4AAHill-Murray (1)Hill-Murray (1)
5AAMaple Grove (2)Maple Grove (2)
6AABenilde SM (1)Wayzata (3)
7AAGrand Rapids (2)Grand Rapids (2)
8AARoseau (2)Moorhead (1)